GDPR: the Full Regulation [FREE]

What is the GDPR regulation?

The GDPR regulation estates 99 articles grouped into 11 chapters. In addition, there are 171 recitals with explanatory remarks.


The GDPR was approved by the EU Parliament on 14 April 2016, after four years of preparation and debate. It became enforceable beginning 25 May 2018.

GDPR regulation

The chapters:

  • I – General provisions
  • II – Principles
  • III – Rights of the data subject
  • IV – Controller and processor
  • V – Transfers of personal data to third countries or international organizations
  • VI – Independent supervisory authorities
  • VII – Cooperation and consistency
  • VIII – Remedies, liability and penalties
  • IX – Provisions relating to specific processing situations
  • X – Delegated acts and implementing acts
  • XI – Final provisions

The GDPR refers to all individuals within the European Union and also the European Economic Area. Therefore, the companies that work with EU’s individuals, have to conform to the regulation.

You can download the FREE full PDF law here, but it’s hard to navigate through it. If you want an interactive experience with an interactive index, we got you covered here.